BTCC Croft: Turkington triumphant in final race to secure victory

Colin Turkington triumphed to victory at the final race of the day for Team BMW, finishing ahead of Gordon Shedden and Ash Sutton.

The four-time BTCC champion claimed his 13th win at Croft after a thrilling, dramatic Race 3.

He dominated the race and finished ahead of championship leader Ash Sutton by over four seconds in the 16 Lap sprint.

At the start, a chaotic crash spurred as the midfield entered Turn 1.

Daniel Lloyd’s Astra was damaged after flying through the gravel and consequently involved other drivers.

This included Team HARD’s Jack Mitchell and his teammate Jack Goff. Jade Edwards was also involved and retired with bodywork damage, as did Ollie Jackson.

Safety car went into the pits on Lap 3, releasing Turkington and Sheddon to start fighting for the lead of the race.

Jason Plato managed to lose control of his Astra at high speed but avoided the barriers to continue.

Adam Morgan, Stephen Jelley, Daniel Rowbottom and Jake Hill were all involved in a big scrap in the approach up to the final hairpin on Lap 8.

Adam Morgan and Stephen Jelley both found themselves facing the wrong way after the dust had settled.

By Lap 10, Turkington had managed to pull a 2.4 second gap to Gordon Shedden in second.

Ash Sutton began a chase on the three-time champion.

Sam Osborne and Dan Rowbottom played a risky fight as they fought off the track coming into the final sector.

Osbourne picked up a puncture and plummeted back down the order on Lap 13.

In the final laps of the race, Turkington had managed to build a four second gap and controlled the race from the front.

Sutton wasn’t able to pass Sheddon in the dying stages of the race, allowing Shedden to achieve his best finish of the season in P2.

Behind Sutton was Tom Ingram, with Josh Cook and Aiden Moffat in fifth and sixth.

Jake Hill finished in seventh after taking on a 75 kg ballast from his Race 2 win.

BTC Racing’s Senna Proctor and Team Dynamics’ Dan Rowbottom completed the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team
1 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
2 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
3 Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
4 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
5 Josh Cook BTC Racing
6 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
7 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
8 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
9 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
10 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
11 Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
12 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
13 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
14 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
15 Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing
16 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
17 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
18 Andy Neate
Motorbase Performance (C)
19 Jack Butel
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
20 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
21 Nick Halstead
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
22 Sam Osborne
Motorbase Performance (C)
23 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
24 (DNF) Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
25 (DNF) Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
26 (DNF) Jade Edwards BTC Racing
27 (DNF) Jack Goff Team HARD
28 (DNF) Dan Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing
29 (DNF) Jack Mitchell Team HARD