BTCC Silverstone: Butcher secures pole in two-part qualifying

Rory Butcher secured pole position at Silverstone National ahead of tomorrow’s opening race, Round 22 of the BTCC.

It was the return of the two-part qualifying format today, last used at Snetterton earlier this year.

A 25-minute Q1 had all 30 drivers fight for a spot in the top-10 shootout.

Amongst the group was Andrew Jordan in the Toyota Corolla Hybrid’s first qualifying participation.

The Toyota Corolla Hybrid will start from the pit lane during tomorrow’s races to diminish any lap times he set.

During the opening stages, drivers were making efforts to warm up their tyres with such few left-handers around the National layout.

Just under 13 minutes to go, Tom Chilton had a left-rear puncture at Copse.

Tyre debris from his multiple spins caused a red flag so he was allowed to continue with his best of 57.692s which sat him fifth provisionally.

Drivers were slipstreaming each other as they fought for the smallest of margins that seperated the field.

Eventually, Chilton lost out to a Q2 spot by 0.002s behind Stephen Jelley.

Another struggler was Gordon Shedden who put himself 14th.

By the end of the 10-minute Q2 session, Rory Butcher claimed pole position to line up on the front-row spot with Tom Ingram second.

Aiden Moffat landed third for tomorrow’s opening race ahead of BTC Racing’s Josh Cook.

Dan Lloyd had his personal best qualifying this season with fifth place in front of Colin Turkington.

Dan Rowbottom took seventh position in his Honda Civic Type R.

Ash Sutton was eighth, Stephen Jelley was ninth and Jason Plato qualified 10th.

Position Driver Team Fastest Time
1 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 57.440s
2 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 57.456s
3 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 57.510s
4 Josh Cook BTC Racing 57.615s
5 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 57.640s
6 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 57.678s
7 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 57.729s
8 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 57.774s
9 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 57.811s
10 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 57.901s
11 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 57.692s
12 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 57.703s
13 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 57.721s
14 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 57.738s
15 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 57.750s
16 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 57.758s
17 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 57.775s
18 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 57.788s
19 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 57.854s
20 Andrew Jordan BTCC Hybrid 57.889s
21 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 57.933s
22 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 57.934s
23 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 57.945s
24 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 57.973s
25 Andy Neate Motorbase Performance (C) 58.091s
26 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 58.097s
27 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 58.108s
28 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 58.125s
29 Jack Goff Team HARD 58.156s
30 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 58.433s