BTCC Brands Hatch GP: Proctor flies to BTC Racing front-row lockout

Senna Proctor claimed pole position as BTC Racing locked out the front row in the final qualifying session of the 2021 BTCC season.

Brands Hatch has the stage set for the final Saturday qualifying session of the season.

With Ash Sutton leading the championship by 32 points, it is all to play for as rival Colin Turkington prepares to hunt down a fifth championship title.

In the first ten minutes of the 30-minute session, Josh Cook led the field with a 1m30.248s to break Brett Smith’s qualifying record of

Sutton, carrying the maximum of 75kg of added weight, initially clawed his way into 4th just ahead of a charging Tom Chilton.

During the halfway point, there was little-to-no improvement in terms of lap times as all drivers swapped their tyres over to start their big final push in the last 10 minutes.

Jack Goff for Team HARD is the first to improve in his first run, pushing him from 26th up to 19th. Rory Butcher was the next across the line to displace Goff in 19th after heavy traffic on his flying lap.

Turkington posted a strong lap in with seven minutes remaining to go third, however Sutton came through just a few seconds later to beat his main title rival.

By the end, BTC Racing locked out the front row at the Brands Hatch GP circuit; Senna Proctor narrowly took pole ahead of Josh Cook.

Behind in third and fourth were the Halfords Racing with Cataclean duo Dan Rowbottom and Gordon Shedden.

In P5 was Dan Lloyd for Power Maxed Racing ahead of Ash Sutton and his Laser Tools Racing teammate Aiden Moffat.

Whilst Turkington didn’t have the session he wanted in P8, he came away with the Goodyear WingFoot award as the best qualifier over the course of the season.

Stephen Jelley qualified ninth as Tom Chilton rounded off the top-10 order.

Andy Wilmot did not take part in the session, replacing Jack Butel for this weekend.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from pole
1 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 1m30.237s
2 Josh Cook BTC Racing 1m30.248s 0.011s
3 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 1m30.282s 0.045s
4 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 1m30.359s 0.122s
5 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 1m30.368s 0.131s
6 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 1m30.383s 0.146s
7 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 1m30.408s 0.171s
8 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 1m30.409s 0.172s
9 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 1m30.450s 0.213s
10 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 1m30.509s 0.272s
11 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 1m30.516s 0.279s
12 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 1m30.527s 0.290s
13 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m30.590s 0.353s
14 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 1m30.598s 0.361s
15 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m30.678s 0.441s
16 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 1m30.741s 0.504s
17 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 1m30.756s 0.519s
18 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 1m30.793s 0.556s
19 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m30.987s 0.750s
20 Jack Goff Team HARD 1m30.998s 0.761s
21 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 1m31.005s 0.768s
22 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 1m31.024s 0.787s
23 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m21.179s 0.942s
24 Andy Neate Motorbase Performance (C) 1m31.343s 1.106s
25 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 1m31.813s 1.576s
26 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m31.998s 1.761s
27 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 1m31.085s 1.848s
28 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 1m31.392s 2.155s
29 Andy Wilmot EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars NO TIME SET N/A