BTCC Brands Hatch GP: Cook fronts BTC Racing 1-2 at opener

Josh Cook fronted a BTC Racing 1-2 at Round 28 of the British Touring Car Championship, leaving only two races before a champion is crowned.

The opener to the final race day of this season was dry with a few clouds in the clear blue skies above Brands Hatch.

With qualifying left marginally close between the majority of the field, the opener of the day gave a chance for drivers to make up places ahead of Race 2.

At lights out for the 17-lap affair, all of the Hondas on the first and second rows had smooth getaways.

Championship-leader Ash Sutton was pushing on with a strong start but had his main title rival Colin Turkington on his tail into the second lap.

Josh Cook led the race over his teammate Senna Proctor soon whilst Turkington was keeping Sutton on edge right behind the Infiniti Q50.

By Lap 5, Andy Neate spun into the gravel at Druids after minor contact with Jade Edwards which caused a brief safety car period to bunch the field.

The race lap distance was extended to 17 laps from 15.

A narrow Brands Hatch GP circuit gave little margin for error and a greater challenge to overtake, so there were no position changes as the pack remained close.

On Lap 9, Tom Ingram was on the tail of Jake Hill as he was at the very beginning for 13th. And the pair fought it out nose-to-tail.

Jade Edwards had a temporary off-moment as she ran wide at Turn 1, grazing her Civic Type R across the gravel.

By Lap 13, Adam Morgan was fiercely defending 16th position from Rory Butcher, then joined by Team HARD’s Jack Goff.

Butcher eventually won this scrap taking place outside the points threshold.

With three laps to go, Ollie Jackson took on intense pressure from Tom Oliphant’s BMW to keep P10.

Heading into the penultimate lap, Stephen Jelley seemingly lost a great deal of pace hinting a mechanical issue which caused him to drop down the order.

Cook landed his fourth race victory this season ahead of pole-sitter Senna Proctor, therefore marking another 1-2 for BTC Racing.

Gordon Shedden who set the pace all throughout the race claimed third.

Dan Lloyd was fourth ahead of Dan Rowbottom.

Ash Sutton finished sixth ahead of Colin Turkington which puts the Infiniti driver a point further up the standings – to a 33-point margin.

Speaking of BMW, they secured their sixth manufacturer’s championship thanks to the efforts of West Surrey Racing.

Aiden Moffat finished eighth ahead of Tom Chilton’s personal best this season of P9.

Ollie Jackson rounded off the top-10 positions.

Position Driver Team
1 (17 Laps) Josh Cook BTC Racing
2 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
3 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
4 Dan Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing
5 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
6 Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
7 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
8 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
9 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
10 Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
11 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
12 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
13 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
14 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
15 Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
16 Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
17 Jack Goff Team HARD
18 Sam Osborne
Motorbase Performance (C)
19 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
20 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
21 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
22 Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing
23 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
24 Rick Parfitt Jr.
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
25 Andy Wilmot
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
26 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
27 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
28 (DNF) Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
29 (DNF) Andy Neate
Motorbase Performance (C)