6H Bahrain: Hartley takes pole for #8 Toyota, Porsche 1-2 in GTE Pro

The #8 Toyota will start on pole position in tomorrow’s 6H of Bahrain as the team looks to retake the championship lead from its #7 rivals.

Throughout both sessions of the two-part qualifying, drivers struggled with track limits just like they did in Monza, meaning some had their fastest times deleted from the leaderboard.

In the GTE-Am category, the #60 Iron Lynx car driven by Rino Mastronardi went fastest of the group for his first class-pole position.

He set a 1m58.687s lap time to have a comfortable gap from the #98 Aston Martin which will start second tomorrow.

Kevin Estre continued his strong qualifying form and put the #92 Porsche on pole in the GTE-Pro class, the #91 Porsche ended the session in second meaning the team has the upper hand on the AF Corse squad.

The #52 AF Corse could only get 1.183s within the #92’s time in third, meaning the team has work to do tomorrow.

In the Hypercar and LMP2 session, both categories also faced challenges with track limits.

The #36 Alpine driven by Andre Negrao had his final lap time deleted but this did not have an effect on its final position in third overall.

At the front, it was Brendon Hartley who took pole in the #8 Toyota ahead of the #7 car driven by Kamui Kobayashi; the #8 side of the garage will be hoping to make inroads on the championship leaders tomorrow.

In LMP2, the JOTA team looked like they would have a 1-2 finish before Filipe Albuquerque split the pair in his #22 United Autosports Oreca 07.

That means the #28 JOTA will start on pole position tomorrow as Tom Blomqvist set a 1m49.885s lap on his second flying lap, just over one tenth faster than the #22 car.

But after it was noted they exceeded track limits, the team still kept pole owing to another lap time surpassing United by 0.062s.

All eyes will be on the two Toyota’s at the front in tomorrow’s 6 Hours of Bahrain to see which car will take the victory and just who will have the upper hand going into the finale next week.

1 1 #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing Brendon Hartley 1m47.049s – –
2 2 #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing Kamui Kobayashi 1m47.447s 0.398s
3 3 #36 Alpine Elf Matmut Andre Negrao 1m48.003s 0.954s
4 1 #28 JOTA Tom Blomqvist 1m49.932s 2.898s
5 2 #22 United Autosports Filipe Albuquerque 1m49.994s 2.945s
6 3 #38 JOTA Antonio Felix Da Costa 1m50.198s 3.149s
7 4 #70 Realteam Racing (Pro/Am) Loic Duval 1m50.559s 3.510s
8 5 #34 Inter Europol Competition (Pro/Am) Renger Van Der Zande 1m50.658s 3.609s
9 6 #29 Racing Team Nederland (Pro/Am) Giedo Van Der Garde 1m50.942s 3.893s
10 7 #20 High Class Racing (Pro/Am) Robert Kubica 1m50.979s 3.930s
11 8 #31 Team WRT Charles Milesi 1m51.043s 3.994s
12 9 #21 DragonSpeed USA (Pro/Am) Ben Hanley 1m51.312s 4.263s
13 10 #44 ARC Bratislava (Pro/Am) Oliver Webb 1m51.487s 4.438s
14 11 #1 Richard Mille Racing Sophia Floersch 1m51.736s 4.687s
15 1 #92 Porsche GT Team Kevin Estre 1m56.140s – –
16 2 #91 Porsche GT Team Gianmaria Bruni 1m56.178s 0.034s
17 3 #52 AF Corse Miguel Molina 1m57.327s 1.183s
18 4 #51 AF Corse Alessandro Pier Guidi 1m57.573s 1.429s
19 1 #60 Iron Lynx Rino Mastronardi 1m58.687s 2.543s
20 2 #98 Aston Martin Racing Paul Dalla Lana 1m59.331s 3.187s
21 3 #56 Team Project 1 Egidio Perfetti 1m59.404s 3.260s
22 4 #47 Cetilar Racing Roberto Lacorte 1m59.410s 3.266s
23 5 #54 AF Corse Thomas Flohr 1m59.534s 3.390s
24 6 #33 TF Sport Ben Keating 1m59.538s 3.394s
25 7 #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing Khaled Al Qubaisi 1m59.923s 3.779s
26 8 #83 AF Corse François Perrodo 2m00.263s 4.119s
27 9 #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Christian Ried 2m00.294s 4.150s
28 10 #777 D’station Racing Satoshi Hoshino 2m00.300s 4.156s
29 11 #85 Iron Lynx Sarah Bovy 2m00.457s 4.313s
30 12 #86 GR Racing Michael Wainwright 2m00.939s 4.795s
31 13 #57 Kessel Racing Takeshi Kimura 2m01.877s 5.733s