8H Bahrain: #8 Toyota leads over sister Hypercar at halfway point

The #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing lead the 8 Hours of Bahrain at the halfway point with the night phase looming ahead for the field.

For the third and fourth hours into Round 6, the race entered darkness which gave chance for the temperatures to cool to around 30 degrees Celsius as the humidity settled at 25 per cent.

Picking up from the last report, the Full-Course-Yellow period was relieved as the #31 of Robin Frijns opportunistically passed the #28 of Stoffel Vandoorne.

LMP2 continued to switch around regarding fights for positions.

Anthony Davidson, the 2014 WEC champion participating in his final professional race, was asserting the pace of his #38 JOTA Oreca 07 Gibson as he passed the #70 of Esteban Garcia.

At the 2 hours and 25 minute mark, the #31 who got into P2 found its way past the #29 of Frits Van Eerd.

The Dutch outfit established a dominant lead primarily due to a strong double-stint by Guido Van Der Garde, but the #31 found its way up the pack in pursuit of landing the LMP2 Drivers’ title.

In GTE-Am, François Perrodo engaged with a thrilling battle with the #56 of Egidio Perfetti, eventually won by the Porsche driver who claimed second in-class.

GTE-Pro continued to throw tension between Ferrari and Porsche with the group racing together.

The first retirement occured into the fourth hour when Axil Jeffries of the #88 spun after attempting to pass Marcos Gomes at Turn 1.

There was no significant external bodywork damage to either, but the #88 failed to set off after the spin. This induced a brief third Full-Course-Yellow period.

Seven laps later, another Full-Course-Yellow was deployed to retrieve debris at Turn 8.

During this, the #56 was granted a 60 second stop-and-go penalty for putting a marshall in danger – awarded a little after the FCY was relieved.

A thrilling battle was induced approaching the fifth hour of the race between Garcia battling off Calderon for P7.

Most crucially, the #91 was awarded 10-seconds added to their next pit stop for an infringement when they attempted to perform their driver change narrowly before the car was dropped to set away.

This put them out of a helping hand to fend the #92 from both Ferraris, instead asserting all available pace before they pitted.

1 #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing [HYPERCAR]
2 #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing [HYPERCAR]
3 #31 Team WRT [LMP2]
4 #28 JOTA [LMP2]
5 #38 JOTA [LMP2]
6 #22 United Autosports [LMP2]
7 #34 Inter Europol Competition (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
8 #36 Alpine Elf Matmut [HYPERCAR]
9 #29 Racing Team Nederland (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
10 #1 Richard Mille Racing [LMP2]
11 #70 Realteam Racing (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
12 #21 DragonSpeed USA (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
13 #20 High Class Racing (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
14 #44 ARC Bratislava (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
15 #51 AF Corse [GTE-PRO]
16 #92 Porsche GT Team [GTE-PRO]
17 #52 AF Corse [GTE-PRO]
18 #91 Porsche GT Team [GTE-PRO]
19 #47 Cetilar Racing [GTE-AM]
20 #83 AF Corse [GTE-AM]
21 #33 TF Sport [GTE-AM]
22 #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing [GTE-AM]
23 #57 Kessel Racing [GTE-AM]
24 #54 AF Corse [GTE-AM]
25 #98 Aston Martin Racing [GTE-AM]
26 #777 D’station Racing [GTE-AM]
27 #56 Team Project 1 [GTE-AM]
28 #60 Iron Lynx [GTE-AM]
29 #85 Iron Lynx [GTE-AM]
30 #86 GR Racing [GTE-AM]
31 #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing [GTE-AM] *DNF