BTCC 2022: Tracking the moves of the silly season

From returnees, new names and debutants, Last Lap traces the 2022 driver market as the hybrid era sets into motion later this year.

The 65th season of Britain’s premier touring car championship is set to begin a new era of hybrid cars.

For 2022, a grid of 32 entries will take on the campaign in April at Donington Park.

However, various changes in the silly season will bridge the months until then, and so this article will trace all of the major moves and driver confirmations.

The full entry list will be published by TOCA in March.

Editor’s Note: This is a developing story which will be updated accordingly, identical to last year’s timeline.

From latest to oldest:

20 January 2022 – Ingram extends contract deal by another year to the 2023 season

EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars’ main star Tom Ingram immediately accustomed himself to the Hyundai last year.

A podium on his first outing, then his first 2021 victory six races in, was part of a competitive campaign which saw him fight for the top places in the championship right until the finale.

With it being clear his ability to fight for the overall title was not just a stroke of luck in Speedworks’ Toyota Corolla, it is no surprise to see him extend his contract by another year.

He was tired of being “BTCC’s ‘nearly man’ too many times” and carries utmost motivation to challenge for the title in the new hybrid era.

31 December 2021 – Hill confirmed at MB Motorsport who switch for new BMW package

Mark Brundell’s team chose to part their professional relationship from Motorbase, instead to WSR.

Jake Hill had his most successful season last year and expressed promising abilities, such as when he challenged Aiden Moffat for the win at Croft.

The Ford Focus ST package, whilst strong under his control, lacked the pace at several venues such as Silverstone.

Ideally, these anomalies will be ironed out in the BMW 3 Series which has the longer wheelbase and rear-wheel drive drivetrain to give MB Motorsport an all-rounded car.

This will fall under WSR’s three constructor-backed entries, with two WSR seats left to be confirmed.

21 December 2021 – Reigning champion Sutton partners Cammish at NAPA Racing

One of the other major stories to break early, the youngest three-time champion will defend his crown at another team, in new machinery.

Ash Sutton will partner Dan Cammish, marking out high expectations yet several unknowns given his affiliation with the Infiniti Q50 package.

These two talents line up a promising representation for Ford and NAPA Racing.

20 December 2021 – Patterson set for debut as Moffat continues at Laser Tools Racing

A young karting star will debut into the BTCC driving a package already proven to fight at the front of the grid.

The 18-year-old will be the youngest driver for 2022 (known so far) and it will be a case of learning the discipline and the style of other drivers amongst a packed field.

His teammate, Aiden Moffat, showed promising attributes last year with strong, calculated, defensive driving and a record marking his most successful season to date; he scored 125 points more than the previous year following three podium appearances, including his second win.

He sets an example for Patterson to follow at Laser Tools Racing.

17 December 2021 – Motorbase retain driver-lineup for 2022

Motorbase Performance have retained their drivers for a second year in a row.

Whilst unsurprising for Sam Osborne given his family connections to Motorbase, he will pair up well with Ollie Jackson.

His 2021 campaign was not as successful as the year before when he secured his first two wins and a podium finish, only achieving the latter at MB Motorsport.

Jackson’s his familiarity with the Ford Focus ST package will give him another chance to stand out in the midfield en route to more podium finishes.

15 December 2021 – Dan Cammish set for BTCC comeback with NAPA Racing UK

A year out from the BTCC, excluding his BTC Racing cameo, Dan Cammish will make his BTCC comeback.

Having recently won his third Porsche Carrera Cup GB Championship title, it is clear his fighting form has kept his motivation to re-enter the BTCC again.

The newest team has secured one of the quickest drivers after two of his three full-time seasons was spent contending for the overall title.

13 December 2021 – NAPA Racing enters partnership with Motorbase

The famous automotive parts brand which has found itself across American motorsport, such as in NASCAR and IndyCar, has now reached across the pond to the BTCC.

Their debut onto the grid will fulfill a commercially bright light onto the brand to expand their motorsport outreach, so to have backing from Motorbase adds confidence.

All that is needed are a pair of drivers who can put their Ford Focus STs at the sharp end of the grid.

25 November 2021 – Oliphant leaves West Surrey Racing

Tom Oliphant marked his temporary step back from racing with his split from the WSR outfit and a move to Australia.

He contributed to the recent success of WSR by assisting them to one Teams’ Championship and BMW to three Manufacturers’ Titles.

The 2015 Ginetta GT4 Champion looks to get behind the wheel from 2023 whether it is in the UK or in Australia.

His TOCA connections will remain as he oversees his PR and design company Next Level Motorsport.

2 November 2021 – Tom Chilton departs Ciceley Motorsport

The 2010 Independents’ Champion faced a tricky 2021 campaign as he switched to the rear-wheel drive championship-winning BMW package which Ciceley had just obtained.

His BTC Racing campaign during the season prior featured three podium spots and consistent points finishes.

Chilton’s efforts were commendable yet he drove his lowest championship points tally since 2009.

As a result of his 2021 campaign, he chose to depart the team. He was also jumped by Adam Morgan in the standings on 161 points.

Ciceley Motorsport will continue with the BMW package they debuted last year with two seats yet to be confirmed.

1 NAPA Racing UK (C) Ash Sutton 1 [Ford Focus ST]
2 Dan Cammish 9
3 Motorbase Performance (C) Sam Osborne 4 [Ford Focus ST]
4 Ollie Jackson 48
5 MB Motorsport powered by ROKiT (C) Jake Hill 24 [BMW 330e M Sport]
6 Team BMW (C) TBA TBA [BMW 330e M Sport]
8 Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) TBA TBA [Toyota GR Hybrid]
11 Laser Tools Racing Aiden Moffat 16 [Infiniti Q50]
12 Dexter Patterson 55
13 Team HARD Jack Goff 31
14 Aron Taylor-Smith 40
16 Halfords Racing with Cataclean Daniel Rowbottom 32 [Honda Civic Type R]
19 EXCELR8 Motorsport Tom Ingram

80 [Hyundai i30 N Performance Fastback]

23 BTC Racing TBA TBA [Honda Civic Type R]
27 Ciceley Motorsport TBA TBA [BMW 330e M Sport]
29 Powered Maxed Racing TBA TBA [Vauxhall Astra]
31 Boardley Motorsport TBA TBA [UNKNOWN MODEL]