Record-high Season 10 entry list includes Peugeot amongst debutants

The FIA and ACO has unveiled the provisional entry list for the WEC’s 10th season including debutants Peugeot and a record-high LMP2 class.

For the 2022 edition, a record-total of 39 competitors will take on a six-round calendar commencing at Sebring.

Across all four categories, there are a range of recurring and debuting names such as Peugeot in Hypercars, and many more in LMP2.

It will also be the final year of GTE-Pro for Ferrari and Porsche before they commit to their respective Hypercar projects from 2023.

Frederic Lequien, CEO of the WEC, said: “Not only do we have a strong and varied field in Hypercar and LMGTE Pro, we also see record numbers in LMP2 and LMGTE Am, which is testament to the continued growth of our championship.

“The future of the WEC is looking extremely bright and we’re looking forward to seeing everyone in Sebring for the start of what promises to be another memorable season.”

In Hypercar, reigning champions Toyota GAZOO Racing will begin their 10th year and Kamui Kobayashi holds both driver and team principal roles.

Glickenhaus Racing return for their second season since finishing fourth and fifth at their 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.

Their #708 will take on a full-time role as both SCG 007 LMHs will return at Le Mans.

Credit: Peugeot Sport

Peugeot TotalEnergies will make their WEC debut and return to top-level sportscar racing since LMP1 in 2011.

Two 9X8 Le Mans Hypercars will pursue the campaign with their drivers who are not fully confirmed in the list yet.

Alpine Elf will pilot their A480 Gibson for its second and final season as Alpine prepare for a Hypercar program.

In the WEC’s largest ever LMP2 field, several new teams and drivers will be making their debuts.

Vector Sport will enable Sebastien Bourdais to make his official LMP2 debut to add amongst his vast sportscar experience.

Credit: Vector Sport

Will Owen was already confirmed in the United Autosports #22 as Alex Lynn, Olly Jarvis and the upcoming youngest driver in the WEC, Josh Pierson, are in the new #23.

Reigning European Le Mans Series champions Louis Deletraz and Robert Kubica will take on a full-season campaign after losing out to the 24 Hours of Le Mans victory last year.

They will compete for debutants Prema in partnership with Iron Lynx.

Team Penske also join LMP2 with Emmanuel Collard and their two confirmed Porsche LMDh drivers.

GTE-Pro’s final year as a works GTE category will field AF Corse Ferrari, Porsche, and a single entry by Corvette Racing.

The American marque made their European debut, excluding their Le Mans appearances, at Spa-Francorchamps last year.

GTE regulations themselves will run until the end of 2023.

The Am division features a number of regular names including the Iron Dames, D’station Racing, Dempsey-Proton and more in a class of 13.