Roar 24: Wayne Taylor Racing secures redemption-fuelled pole position

Ricky Taylor fended off Richard Westbrook to secure pole position for next weekend’s 24 Hours of Daytona in the #10 Wayne Taylor Racing.

Conditions were dry and bright at the Daytona International Speedway before the crucial qualifying race which will set the grid for next weekend’s 24 Hours of Daytona.

At lights out, the front of the field was full of action in DPi as Tristan Vautier fended off his front-row spot from the #2 Cadillac Racing of Earl Bamber.

In LMP2, the #52 kept its pole position ahead of the sister car, piloted by Steven Thomas.

Also at the beginning, LMP3 drama struck including the likes of the #48 with a suspected alternator issue, and the #54 who did not start, and the #74.

Both WeatherTech Racing cars in GTD-Pro were battling side-by-side at the beginning in the middle of the category.

The #10 started in 7th after failing post-qualifying checks, but charged up to fifth at the opening stage in the hands of Filipe Albuquerque.

After 10 minutes of racing, another LMP3 faced drama when the #74 suffered mechanical issues and went behind the wall to the garage.

The first scheduled pit stop was the #31 Whelen Engineering DPi with an hour and 17 minutes left.

Both GTD fields battled out fiercely in pursuit of track position, but there was drama between the #27 Heart of Racing of Tom Gamble who had contact with the #96 Turner Motorsport.

Their BMW M4 GT3, debuting at Daytona, suffered a front-right puncture and Ben Auberlen nursed the car back to the pits and did not return to the circuit.

The #27 immediately stopped behind a wall after the contact and retired, thus not triggering a safety car.

For the final 15 minutes, it was an intense battle for the overall lead with the #10 Ricky Taylor fending off his lead to the #5 pole-sitter of Richard Westbrook.

Meanwhile the #31 of Pipo Derani lost his third place after having to make a splash-and-dash pit stop for fuel in the final minutes.

The #10 was put to the back of the DPi field (of seven cars) and the car which won the last three Daytona 24 Hours races was fighting for pole position.

Their nose-to-tail battle was kept together with the draft on the ovals, and with the GTD traffic.

On the final lap, Westbrook clipped the rear of Taylor approaching Turn 1, sending him into a spin whilst the Acura continued unharmed to the pole position.

The #10 has won the last three editions of the 24, so they will be pursuing a fourth win next weekend.

Rene Rast asserted the strongest LMP2 pace in the #68 with a fastest lap of 1m35.789s.

Ultimately, the #52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports landed LMP2 pole ahead of their #11 sister Oreca 07.

In LMP3, it was the #36 who starts at the front of their field for next week’s main race.

GTD-Pro had the #63 Lamborghini Huracan take the win for pole, whilst the #57 Mercedes-AMG GT3 took its GTD-class pole position.

Reminder: DPi, LMP2s and LMP3s will start in their seperate fields but GTD will be mixed.

Overall Position Category Team
1 (61 Laps) DPi #10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05
2 DPi #5 JDC Miller MotorSports
3 DPi #48 Ally Cadillac
4 DPi #60 Meyer Shank Racing W/Curb-Agajanian
5 DPi #2 Cadillac Racing
6 DPi #2 Cadillac Racing
7 DPi #31 Whelen Engineering Racing
8 LMP2 #52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports
9 LMP2 #52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports
10 LMP2 #68 G-Drive Racing By APR
11 LMP2 #20 High Class Racing
12 LMP2 #81 DragonSpeed USA
13 LMP2 #29 Racing Team Nederland
14 LMP2 #68 G-Drive Racing By APR
15 LMP2 #8 Tower Motorsport
16 LMP2 #22 United Autosports
17 LMP3 #36 Andretti Motorsport
18 LMP3 #6 Muehlner Motorsports America
19 LMP3 #13 AWA
20 GTD-Pro #63 TR3 Racing
21 GTD-Pro #97 WeatherTech Racing
22 GTD-Pro #9 Pfaff Motorsports
23 GTD #57 Winward Racing
24 GTD #59 Crucial Motorsports
25 GTD-Pro #97 WeatherTech Racing
26 GTD-Pro #15 Proton USA
27 GTD-Pro #27 Heart of Racing Team
28 GTD-Pro #12 VasserSullivan
29 GTD #16 Wright Motorsports
30 GTD #12 VasserSullivan
31 GTD #75 Sun Energy 1
32 GTD #32 Gilbert Korthoff Motorsports
33 GTD-Pro #4 Corvette Racing
34 GTD #28 Algera Motorsports
35 GTD #70 Inception Racing
36 LMP3 #7 Forty7 Motorsports
37 GTD #39 CarBahn with Peregrine Racing
38 GTD-Pro #3 Corvette Racing
39 GTD #44 Magnus Racing
40 GTD #98 Northwest AMR
41 GTD-Pro #2 KCMG
42 GTD #47 Cetilar Racing
43 GTD-Pro #62 Risi Competizione
44 GTD-Pro #24 BMW M Team RLL
45 GTD #19 TR3 Racing
46 GTD-Pro #25 BMW M Team RLL
47 GTD #99 Team Hardpoint
48 GTD #34 GMG Racing
49 GTD #66 Gradient Racing
50 GTD #21 AF Corse
51 LMP3 #33 Sean Creech Motorsport
52 GTD #42 NTE Sport
53 LMP3 #26 Muehlner Motorsports America
54 GTD #64 TeamTGM
55 LMP2 #18 Era Motorsport
56 GTD #96 Turner Motorsport
57 GTD #23 Heart of Racing Team
58 LMP3 #38 Performance Tech Motorsports
59 GTD #71 T3 Motorsport North America
60 LMP3 #74 Riley Motorsports
61 LMP3 #54 CORE Autosport