Daytona 24: Castroneves takes #60 to overall win ahead of #10

The #60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura claimed the overall win to close off a thrilling Daytona 24 and DragonSpeed led the LMP2 victory honours.

It was the calm before the storm as the race entered the closing stages.

The field was kept close with the caution periods which followed after each other, ensuring the fight to the finish was unpredictable.

The penultimate hour saw the #13 AWA LMP3 of Matthew Bell pull off at the Le Mans Chicane and stop. This triggered a full-course yellow which gave the field an opportunity to pit for tyres and fuel.

At 1 hour and 30 minutes remaining, the fight for the coveted overall victory between the #10 and the #60.

They went wheel-to-wheel through the Le Mans chicane and a new leader emerged in the form of Tom Blomqvist’s #60 Acura DPi.

Another Full-Course Yellow brought the field together again and ensured there would be a fight to the finish in each category.

It was then a sprint to the finish when the circuit turned to Green Flag conditions yet again.

It featured last year’s winner Helio Castroneves in the #60 keeping Ricky Taylor at bay. Both Acuras were separated by under a second, which was maintained as the pair ciphered through GTD traffic.

Speaking of GTD, the #21, as well as the #54 LMP3, were both handed drive-through penalties for overtaking under yellow flags.

This played a crucial twist in the LMP3 and GTD lead fights as the #54 dove from third-in-class and the #21 pitted from second in GTD.

Tower Motorsport put on a show with Louis Deletraz at the wheel, edging Colton Herta of the #81 DragonSpeed USA by under a second.

The #8 driver notably lost out to a Le Mans victory last year after their Team WRT Oreca 07 stopped on the final lap.

All eyes were on GTD-Pro with the #9 of Mathieu Jaminet and the #2 of Laurens Vanthoor, both Porsches putting on a thrilling duel as they fought nose-to-tail with one-another.

Things got intense when in the final five minutes, they took on the first sector alongside each other, the #2 briefly edging the #9 onto the grass. The favour of minor contact was returned straight afterwards in door-to-door fashion.

Their fight ran to the finish but they had contact at the chicane on the final lap, therefore the #9 was provisionally victorious ahead of the vast GTD field.

The #2 fell to third after attempting to take the inside of the #9 but hit the grass, sending him into a spin.

Helio Castroneves charged to his second consecutive victory albeit in a different team; Meyer Shank Racing. Their drivers were Oliver Jarvis, Tom Blomqvist, Simon Pagenaud and Castroneves.

The #01 set strong pace during the Daytona 24 despite their struggles. They achieved a new all-time lap record of 1m33.724s.

DragonSpeed USA’s #81 crew tasted victory in the LMP2 category, whilst Felipe Fraga took the #74 Riley Motorsports to their class win.

Whilst the #9 won in GTD-Pro, another Porsche took the win in GTD; Wright Motorsports won by 12 seconds ahead of the #44.

After another gruelling 24 Hours of Daytona, 14 out of the original total of 61 entries faced retirement.

Overall Position Category Team
1 (761 Laps) DPi

#60 Meyer Shank Racing W/Curb-Agajanian

2 DPi

#10 Konica Minolta Acura ARX-05

3 DPi

#5 Cadillac Racing

4 DPi

#31 Whelen Engineering Racing

5 LMP2

#81 DragonSpeed USA

6 LMP2

#29 Racing Team Nederland

7 LMP2

#8 Tower Motorsport

8 LMP2

#52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports

9 LMP2

#68 G-Drive Racing By APR

10 LMP2

#22 United Autosports

11 DPi

#48 Ally Cadillac

12 DPi

#02 Cadillac Racing

13 LMP3

#74 Riley Motorsports

14 DPi

#01 Cadillac Racing

15 LMP3

#33 Sean Creech Motorsport

16 LMP3

#54 CORE Autosport

17 LMP3

#36 Andretti Motorsport

18 LMP2

#18 Era Motorsport

19 GTD-Pro

#9 Pfaff Motorsports

20 GTD-Pro

#62 Risi Competizione

21 GTD-Pro #2 KCMG
22 GTD-Pro

#14 VasserSullivan

23 GTD-Pro #15 Proton USA
24 GTD

#16 Wright Motorsports

25 GTD

#44 Magnus Racing

26 GTD

#32 Gilbert Korthoff Motorsports

27 GTD #21 AF Corse
28 GTD

#70 Inception Racing

29 GTD

#57 Winward Racing

30 GTD-Pro

#3 Corvette Racing

31 GTD-Pro

#25 BMW M Team RLL

32 GTD #64 TeamTGM
33 LMP3 #13 AWA
34 GTD

#71 T3 Motorsport North America

35 GTD

#27 Heart of Racing Team

36 LMP3

#26 Muehlner Motorsports America

37 GTD-Pro

#79 WeatherTech Racing

38 GTD

#99 Team Hardpoint

39 GTD #19 TR3 Racing
40 GTD

#98 Northwest AMR

41 GTD-Pro

#24 BMW M Team RLL

42 LMP2

#11 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports

43 GTD

#66 Gradient Racing

44 GTD

#47 Cetilar Racing

45 GTD

#12 VasserSullivan

46 GTD-Pro

#4 Corvette Racing

47 LMP3

#38 Performance Tech Motorsports

48 (DNF) LMP2

#69 G-Drive Racing By APR

49 (DNF) GTD #42 NTE Sport
50 (DNF) GTD-Pro

#97 WeatherTech Racing

51 (DNF) LMP3

#7 Forty7 Motorsports

52 (DNF) GTD-Pro #63 TR3 Racing
53 (DNF) LMP3

#6 Muehlner Motorsports America

54 (DNF) GTD

#39 CarBahn with Peregrine Racing

55 (DNF) LMP2

#20 High Class Racing

56 (DNF) GTD

#96 Turner Motorsport

57 (DNF) GTD

#59 Crucial Motorsports

58 (DNF) GTD

#28 Alegra Motorsports

59 (DNF) GTD-Pro

#23 Heart of Racing Team

60 (DNF) GTD

#75 Sun Energy 1

61 (DNF) GTD

#34 GMG Racing