Rast and Nato amongst completed Team WRT line-up

Team WRT has confirmed their full driver line-ups across both World Endurance Championship LMP2 entries, featuring new and returning names.

The reigning WEC LMP2 Teams’ Champions has confirmed their remaining four seats after recently announcing Rui Andrade and Sean Gelael at the team.

Reigning LMP2 Le Mans winner and Drivers’ Champion Ferdinand Habsburg will join Andrade and Norman Nato in the #41 Realteam by WRT entry.

Robin Frijns, also a outgoing LMP2 Le Mans victor and Drivers’ Champion, will compete for a second WEC season in the #31.

He partners fellow Audi factory driver Rene Rast and ex-JOTA driver Sean Gelael.

Nato, who was part of Realteam Racing’s Pro/Am crew last year, said: “I am really pleased to continue Realteam’s adventure joining WRT for the 2022 FIA WEC season.

“After such a successful year in 2021 for the team, we will have to push hard to keep this level of performance.

“The 2022 grid is stronger than ever, I can’t wait to get started.”

Embed from Getty Images

Rast, who will make his return to the WEC in a LMP2, added: “I am very happy to be in the WEC with the champion team.

“Obviously, I know Team WRT (from DTM and GT3 commitments) very well and I know how good they are.

“I look forward to work with them again and with my teammates, Sean [Galeal] and Robin [Frijns], who are two excellent and fast drivers.

“Hopefully, we can have great success together and repeat what was achieved by the team last year.”

Within Rast’s sportscar career, he has taken part in selected WEC rounds during 2014 to 2016.

He drove an Oreca 03R LMP2 for Sebastien Loeb Racing during the 2014 Le Mans 24 Hours where he finished fourth in the category.

In 2015, he took on the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps and Le Mans in Audi Sport Team Joest’s third Audi R18 e-Tron Quattro, with P4 and P7 finishes at both races.

His most extensive WEC commitments followed in 2016 with G-Drive Racing, claiming P2 in the LMP2 class at Le Mans, and winning the 6 Hours of Bahrain finale.

Team WRT aim to defend their LMP2 crowns against 13 other LMP2 rivals.

The season opens at Sebring with the Prologue on 12-13 March, followed by the 1000 Miles of Sebring on 18 March.