1000M Sebring: Alpine secure maiden Hypercar victory as race ends under red flag

After just over seven hours of racing, the #36 Alpine Elf Team secured their first Hypercar win after a dominant performance at Sebring.

It was an early end for the first round of the championship after the threat and eventual arrival of stormy, wet conditions which cut the race short in the final 45 minutes.

The race featured plentiful amounts of battles and fights for positions as well as several woes, both in the forms of incidents and reliability issues.

To open the penultimate hour, the #88 had its right-side door changed to a ‘WeatherTech’ branded one due to a missing door mirror.

For the remainder, it was a thrilling set of fights in the midfield of LMP2 and GTE-Am.

A special example would be the #33 of Marco Sorensen showing little mercy to Brendan Iribe in the #56 after the pair squabbled for position, and the Aston Martin coming out ahead.

With an hour remaining, a safety car was deployed due to the threat of lightning in the area which posed danger to track marshals and the spectators.

Such heavy rain, and hail, did arrive after much prediction and speculation.

After a dominant and strong performance, the Alpine Elf Team trio of Nicolas Lapierre, Matthieu Vaxiviere and Andre Negrao secured their first Hypercar victory.

The #8 Toyota finished second as Glickenhaus landed their first-ever overall podium finish in third.

In LMP2, the #23 United Autosports crew of Paul Di Resta, Oliver Jarvis and 16-year-old WEC debutant Josh Pierson secured the win in that class.

GTE-Pro was won by the #92 Porsche duo of Michael Christensen and Kevin Estre.

Finally, it was also commanding drive by the #98 NorthWest AMR crew of Nicki Thiim, Marco Sorensen and Paul Dalla Lana who secured the class victory.

Despite the hours cut short, the 1000 Miles of Sebring did not lack in terms of action and drama.

Read also: 1000 Miles of Sebring: Live Text Commentary

Overall Position Team
1 (195 Laps) #36 Alpine Elf Matmut [HYPERCAR]
2 #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing [HYPERCAR]
3 #708 Glickenhaus Racing [HYPERCAR]
4 #23 United Autosports USA [LMP2]
5 #31 WRT [LMP2]
6 #9 Prema Orlen Team [LMP2]
7 #38 JOTA [LMP2]
8 #41 RealTeam by WRT [LMP2]
9 #28 JOTA [LMP2]
10 #5 Team Penske [LMP2]
11 #22 United Autosports USA [LMP2]
12 #83 AF Corse (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
13 #35 Ultimate (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
14 #45 Algarve Pro Racing (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
15 #1 Richard Mille Racing Team [LMP2]
16 #44 ARC Bratislava (Pro/Am) [LMP2]
17 #92 Porsche GT Team [GTE-PRO]
18 #64 Corvette Racing [GTE-PRO]
19 #91 Porsche GT Team [GTE-PRO]
20 #51 AF Corse [GTE-PRO]
21 #98 NorthWest AMR [GTE-AM]
22 #52 AF Corse [GTE-PRO]
23 #33 TF Sport [GTE-AM]
24 #56 Team Project 1 [GTE-AM]
25 #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing [GTE-AM]
26 #85 Iron Dames [GTE-AM]
27 #777 D’station Racing [GTE-AM]
28 #21 AF Corse [GTE-AM]
29 #60 Iron Lynx [GTE-AM]
30 #54 AF Corse [GTE-AM]
31 [DNF] #34 Inter Europol Competition [LMP2]
32 [DNF] #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing [GTE-AM]
33 [DNF] #10 Vector Sport [LMP2]
34 [DNF] #71 Spirit of Race [GTE-AM]
35 [DNF] #46 Team Project 1 [GTE-AM]
36 [DNF] #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing [HYPERCAR]